Blake R. David Chair

T. Jay Seale III Vice Chair

Sonia A. Pérez Secretary

Kim Hunter Reed, Ph.D. Commissioner of Higher Education



Randy L. Ewing Stephanie A. Finley Robert W. Levy Phillip R. May, Jr. Charles R. McDonald Darren G. Mire Wilbert D. Pryor Gary N. Solomon, Jr. Terrie P. Sterling Collis B. Temple III Felix R. Weill Judy A. Williams-Brown Cameron T. Jackson, Student

BOARD OF REGENTS P. O. Box 3677 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3677

Phone (225) 342-4253, FAX (225) 342-9318 www.regents.la.gov

Power-Based Violence Review Panel

Tuesday, August 3, 2021 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Meeting will be held via Video Conference Meeting can be viewed at: <u>https://regents.la.gov/live/</u>

1. Welcome, Roll Call and Introductions

- Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, Commissioner of Higher Education
- 2. 2021 Legislative Update
 - Senator Regina Ashford Barrow, Chairwoman of the Select Committee on Women and Children, Power-Based Violence Review Panel Author
 - Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, Commissioner of Higher Education

3. Title IX and Power-Based Violence Updates and Best Practices

- Nina Gupta, Partner, Nelson Mullins, LLP
- 4. Relative Agency Updates
- 5. Election of Panel Officers
- 6. Public Comments
- 7. Next Steps & Adjournment

Public comments can be made prior to the meeting and during the meeting via e-mail to: webinar@laregents.edu

Or via phone during the meeting at 1-888-204-5984 Access Code: 1755460#

The Board of Regents is an Equal Opportunity and ADA Employer

Duties of the Power-Based Violence Review Panel pursuant to ACT 441

The panel shall: (1) Evaluate policies and practices of institutions of public postsecondary education, public postsecondary education management boards, and the Board of Regents regarding reporting, investigating, and adjudicating power-based violence by and against students and recommend revisions to improve such policies and practices. (2) Advise and assist institutions of public postsecondary education, public postsecondary education management boards, and the Board of Regents in coordinating procedures to provide power-based violence prevention programs. (3) Serve as an advisory agency to the legislature, the governor, the Board of Regents, and the public postsecondary education management boards regarding power-based violence.

Member	Seat Information as listed in statute
Senator Beth Mizell	(1) The President of the Louisiana Senate or his designee.
Speaker Clay Schexnayder	(2) The Speaker of the Louisiana House of Representatives or his designee.
Senator Regina Ashford Barrow	(3) The Chair of the Louisiana Senate Select Committee on Women and Children or his designee.
Vacant	(4) The Chair of the Louisiana House Select Committee on Women and Children or his designee.
Monica Taylor	(5) The attorney general or his designee.
Dr. Kim Hunter Reed	(6) The commissioner of higher education or his designee.
Dr. Jim Henderson	(7) The president of the UL System or his designee.
Dr. William Tate	(7) The president of the LSU System or his designee.
Dr. Ray Belton	(7) The president of the SU System or his designee.
Dr. Amber Blair	(7) The president of the LCTC System or his designee.
Sarah Stafford	 (8) A student representative from each of the postsecondary management board appointed by the respective board's president. (UL System)
Angelina Cantelli	 (8) A student representative from each of the postsecondary management board appointed by the respective board's president. (LSU System)
Kevin Taylor Jarrell	 (8) A student representative from each of the postsecondary management board appointed by the respective board's president. (SU System)
Jack Waguespack Almeida	 (8) A student representative from each of the postsecondary management board appointed by the respective board's president. (LCTC System)
Captain Treone Larvadain	(9) The superintendent of the Louisiana State Police or his designee.
Chief Bryan Zeringue	(10) The president of the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police or his designee.
Amy Dupuy	(11) A member of the Domestic Violence Prevention Commission appointed by the secretary of the Department of Children and Family Services.
Ayn Stehr	(12) A licensed social worker with experience related to power- based violence appointed by the president of the Board of Directors of the Louisiana Chapter, National Association of Social Workers.

Power-Based Violence Review Panel Members

Dr. Douglas W. Walker	(13) A licensed psychologist with experience related to power- based violence, appointed by the Louisiana State Board of Examiners of Psychologists.
Rafael de Castro	(14) The executive director of the Louisiana Foundation Against Sexual Assault or his designee.
Airzola Cleaves	(15) The president of Sexual Trauma Awareness and Response or his designee.
M. Amanda Brunson	(16) The Governor or his designee.
Dr. Jane Cassidy	 (17) A Title IX Coordinator representing a public postsecondary education system. The Title IX coordinator shall serve for one year, and the membership shall rotate between the higher education systems in the following order: the Louisiana State University System, the Southern University System, the University of Louisiana System, and the Louisiana Community and Technical College System. Each coordinator shall be appointed by his system president.