Richard A. Lipsey Chair

Edward D. Markle Vice Chair

Marty J. Chabert Secretary

Joseph C. Rallo, Ph.D. Commissioner of Higher Education



#### **BOARD OF REGENTS**

P. O. Box 3677 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3677 Phone (225) 342-4253, FAX (225) 342-9318 www.regents.la.gov Claudia H. Adley Blake R. David Thomas G. Henning Robert W. Levy Roy O. Martin III Charles R. McDonald Darren G. Mire Sonia A. Pérez Wilbert D. Pryor T. Jay Seale III Collis B. Temple III Jacqueline V. Wyatt Adarian D. Williams, Student

# LOUISIANA SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING, and MATHEMATICS

ADVISORY COUNCIL

## Wednesday, December 13, 2017

The Louisiana Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (LaSTEM) Advisory Council met at 10:03 a.m. on Wednesday, December 13, 2017, at the Claiborne Building, Thomas Jefferson Room 1-136, 1201 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Dr. Joseph Rallo, Commissioner of Higher Education, called the meeting to order. Mr. Vernon Dunn, Program Manager, called the roll and a quorum was established.

# **Committee Members Present**

Nikki Landry (Jada Lewis)

Joseph Rallo

Ken Bradford (John White)

Susana Schowen Carrick Inabnett

Sarah Haneline (Tom Yura)

Ken Tucker

Kristen Reeves Jaime Williams

William Rafferty (Stephanie Hilferty)

Crystal Gordon Stanton McNeely

Kassie Cusachs (Patty Glaser)

Tricia Miller

Dr. Daniel Roberts (Williams Wainwright)

Todd McDonald

Scott Stevens

Calvin Mackie

Janet Pope

Susannah Craig (Nathan Cotten)

Sharon Hewitt Rachel Finley Jim Henderson

Kenneth Burnell (Ava Dejoie)

Randy Duran Laura Younger Larry Carter Kellie Taylor-White

#### **Committee Members Absent**

Michael Gaudet Tricia Miller

Mahyar Amouzegar Stanton McNeely Jaime Williams Opening Remarks were made by Dr. Joseph Rallo and Senator Sharon Hewitt.

## **LaSTEM Council Follow-up**

Mr. Dunn presented the Council with a Vex update. Vex Robotics Team wants to provide one robot for ten high schools in Louisiana. The Department of Education will request that school districts nominate a school from the criteria developed by the Council. A proposal to the criteria is that 50% of the robotics team needs to be female and must have minority representation. There will be one public school Vex grant recipient for each district. Additionally, there will be one charter school Vex recipient for the state. VEX will provide free training for teachers that will be coaching teams during the week of January 16, 2018. Teams will compete in the state competition on March 3, 2018 in Covington. VEX and teams will present the results at the LaSTEM meeting in the Spring 2018.

#### **LaSTEM Discussion**

Ms. Susanna Schowen provided a review of STEM goals, definition, and literacy that were discussed the previous month. Mr. Dunn presented information on composing SMART goals and the timeline for finalization of the goals. Dr. Rallo expressed the importance of the work the STEM Council is doing, and the impact it will have on the future.

# **LaSTEM Report to Senate and House Committees on Education**

Mr. Dunn informed the group of the January 30, 2018 deadline. A draft of the report will be presented at the January meeting.

#### Higher Education Workgroup Update & Discussion

Dr. Lamadrid provided the Council with the progress of the Higher Education Workgroup. The Higher Education Workgroup group has identified impacted populations, present shortcomings of higher education, opportunities that can be pursued, and potential action items to improve the group's outcomes.

#### **STEM Showcase**

Representatives from Cyber Innovation Center presented the Council with progress being made in the Bossier area. Senator Hewitt invited the Chairs of the Workgroups to visit the Cyber Innovation Center.

#### Other Business, Wrap-Up & Next Steps

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, January 10, 2018, at 9:00 a.m.

.

# Adjournment

There being no further business regarding the LaSTEM Advisory Council, Dr. Rallo adjourned the meeting at 12:07 p.m.

NAME Sandra Partain AFFILIATION BPCC

Sandra Partain BPCC Esperanza Zenon RPCC

Curtis Penrod Northwestern State

Carrie Robison BoR Seth Stevens LAP

Stacia Andricai St. Joseph's

Chris Rue she
Claire Lukart SJA
Patrick Stewart UNO
Phoebe Rouse LSU
Linda Thompson SJA

Luis Medina REC Foundation
Deborah Marshall Xavier University

Les Guice La Tech Kevin Notten CIC

Kim Fossey Foundation for EBR Schools

Jeanne Daboval McNeese
Eric Pani ULM
Chris Roe Parent
Alex Appeaning LCTCL

Bonnie Hymel Pennington Biomedical