Gary N. Solomon, Jr. Chair

T. Jay Seale III Vice Chair

Darren G. Mire Secretary

Kim Hunter Reed, Ph.D. Commissioner of Higher Education



David J. Aubrey
Christian C. Creed
Blake R. David
Robert W. Levy
Stephanie A. Finley
Phillip R. May, Jr.
Wilbert D. Pryor
Terrie P. Sterling
Collis B. Temple III
Felix R. Weill
Judy A. Williams-Brown
Samuel T. Gil, Student Member

P. O. Box 3677 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3677 Phone (225) 342-4253, FAX (225) 342-9318 www.laregents.edu

## AGENDA RESEARCH AND SPONSORED INITIATIVES

Wednesday, March 27, 2024 11:40 a.m.

Claiborne Building, 1st Floor Louisiana Purchase Room, 1-100 1201 North Third Street Baton Rouge, Louisiana

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Appointment of Endowed Chairholders Without a National Search and Reinstatement of Temporary Moratorium on Waivers
  - A. LSU AgCenter
  - B. LSU and A&M College
  - C. LSU Health Sciences Center New Orleans
- IV. Other Business
- V. Adjournment

Committee Members: Stephanie A. Finley, Chair; Phillip R. May, Jr., Vice Chair; Misti S. Cordell; Darren G. Mire;

Wilbert D. Pryor; Felix R. Weill

Staff: Carrie Robison, Deputy Commissioner for Sponsored Programs

#### AGENDA ITEM III.A.

# Appointment of Endowed Chairholders Without a National Search and Reinstatement of Temporary Moratorium on Waivers: LSU AgCenter, LSU and A&M College, and LSU Health Sciences Center – New Orleans

### **Background Information**

Since 2015 the Endowed Chairs for Eminent Scholars policy has included a provision to waive the requirement that BoRSF-matched Endowed Chairs be filled as the result of a national search to allow an internal appointment to be made:

Though the eminence, quality, and appropriateness of candidates for endowed chairs are best gauged through a rigorous national search, faculty already employed by the campus may be appointed to an endowed chair without a national search, provided approval of the Board of Regents and the non-State donor is granted. Such appointments should occur only infrequently and may be proposed only when the internal candidate meets relevant standards of appointment established by BoR and detailed in the approved proposal.

Based on the frequency with which this waiver is requested and possible negative consequences to the program and the state's investment, in September 2023, the Board approved a moratorium on consideration of such waivers. The moratorium was set to expire in March 2024, upon receipt from staff of recommended policy revisions, including related to this provision, resulting of the external assessment of endowment programs conducted by the National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO).

#### **Staff Summary**

Given the March 2024 moratorium expiration, three requests for waiver of the national search requirement are brought for Board consideration. Following Board action on these, staff recommends reinstating the moratorium until this fall, when the Board considers all recommended policy revisions, including those related to this issue.

The three requests for waiver are as follows:

The LSU AgCenter requests to waive the national search requirement for the American Sugar Cane League Chair in Sugarcane Production, a \$1 million chair matched by the Board of Regents Support Fund in FY 2021–22. The LSU AgCenter asks to name Dr. Kenneth Gravois, currently a tenured professor and expert in sugarcane variety development, to the American Sugar Cane League Chair. LSU AgCenter requested to appoint Dr. Gravois to the Chair considering his highly active and internationally recognized work in development of sugarcane varieties and breeding programs. The production value of his work has exceeded \$7.6 billion over the past 13 years, reflecting its profound economic impact in and beyond Louisiana. The non-state donor participated in the selection of the chairholder and is fully supportive of the appointment.

LSU and A&M College requests to appoint Dr. Prosanta Chakrabarty, Professor of Biological Sciences and Curator of Fishes at the LSU Museum of Natural History, to the Edwin K. Hunter Chair for the Communication of Science Research, a \$3 million Chair matched by the BoRSF in 2015–16. In addition to maintaining a highly

Research and Sponsored Initiatives March 27, 2024 Page 2

productive scholarly career, Dr. Chakrabarty is an internationally recognized TED Fellow and National Geographic Certified Educator with unique skills and experience in the focus area of the Hunter Chair. With the approval of the donor, LSU A&M selected Dr. Chakrabarty as the nominee for this Chair through a competitive internal search.

LSU Health Sciences Center – New Orleans requests to appoint Dr. Brian Copeland, Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology, to the Dr. Carl Baldridge Chair in Neurology, a \$1 million Chair matched by the BoRSF in 1996–97, without a national search. Dr. Copeland has been on the LSUHSC faculty since 2013 and currently directs the Neurology Residency program while maintaining a very active research portfolio. Dr. Copeland is an accomplished scientist, educator, and administrator, with a record of funding and service in national professional organizations. Donor approval of the appointment was provided with the letter of request.

All three requests are aligned with policy requirements for such appointments and are recommended for approval.

Apart from the three waiver requests listed above, no requests are awaiting Board approval. Reinstatement of the moratorium will not affect current submissions and will provide time to complete development of recommended policy revisions for Board consideration this fall.

#### STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS

Senior Staff recommends approval of the requests for waiver to appoint endowed chairholders without a national search as follows:

- LSU AgCenter: Dr. Kenneth Gravois to the American Sugar Cane League Chair in Sugarcane Production,
- LSU and A&M College: Dr. Prosanta Chakrabarty to the Edwin K. Hunter Chair for the Communication of Science Research, and
- LSU Health Science Center New Orleans: Dr. Brian Copeland to the Carl Baldridge Chair in Neurology.

As stipulated in Board policy, copies of the Letters of Appointment to these appointees must be submitted to the Board within 90 days of this approval.

Senior Staff further recommends reinstatement of a temporary moratorium on consideration of requests made under this policy provision, effective immediately, until staff recommendations for related policy revisions are considered by the Board this fall.